Just Do It

I tell my kids all time they can be whatever they want to be. It doesn’t matter whatever it is.

Well only Yahya, my little one, would take this literally.

“Mama can I be the President of USA?”

Yes I am dumbstruck and my pause is long. Where does this kid come up with this stuff? This is not the first time he has made me stop dead in my tracks.

We had been walking together. I paused and bent down and looked him in the eye and said,

“Are you serious Yahya?”

“Yes Mama”, his immediate response with an earnest look on his face.

“No Yahya! We are not even US citizens. To be a president of the country you have to a be citizen of the country.”

Yahya looked confused and said “Mama you said I could be anything I wanted to be”

There I was dreading this. I was cornered.

“Yes Yahya I did but I meant a pilot, writer, doctor, painter, footballer and such”

He continued to look at me with his dark eyes and focused expressions. Waiting for me to giving him my approval.

“Yes Yahya you can be the president of USA”.

Yahya smiled and held my hand tightly.

As a Mother my head is flooded with thoughts and reprimands. Maybe I need to be more precise with my language next time. As I continue to walk lost in my thoughts I looked down at Yahya’s smiling face.

I have realised that as a parent I am not here to tell my children what to be, I am here to help them figure out how to be whatever their hearts desire. Essentially to help make their journey of life fun and safe.

Above all to help guide their potential to be the best they can be.

#justdoit

#umilailasjourney

2 Comments

  1. You know, I think you did the right thing. Childhood dreams are precious, and there is a moment in each child’s life where they come to know certain truths on their own. And I’ve witnessed it in my own children, and it’s almost heartbreaking. Allowing that dream of childhood to live for even one more moment is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment