A good day it was

A good day it was. 

Yahya slept better, got up in a good mood. Last night he didn’t come to my room. I got up in the middle of night worried that I had not heard his tiny knock on the door. I stumbled out of the bed and checked my door lock and it was open. I wondered why he hadn’t come. I missed him in my bed. I resisted the strong urge to go and check on him. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to be relieved that he was sleeping on his own or if I wanted to worry as to why he didn’t come. With my thoughts I tried to go back to sleep. I rolled in bed uneasy but today I had no one to blame for my discomfort. 

In morning I asked him why he didn’t come. He said “Yousuf didn’t like sleeping alone”. I was happy. I was going to take one day at time. 

Today I thought I share my humble learnings. What I have discovered as a person finding my way in this world. And that is you can’t do it alone. As you navigate through your life, be open to collaboration, be open to accepting help, be open to asking for help, be open to ideas for often what other people offer are better than your own. Make time for friends, surround yourself with people who challenge and inspire you, spend time with them, and it will change your life. 

 “A friend is someone who makes it easy to believe in yourself.” 

— Heidi Wills

My life has changed. I have friends, each as precious as the priciest diamond. They are like my stars even if I don’t see them I know they are there. Life challenges each one of us but knowing that we can share the challenge gives us immense comfort. 

 “Friends are medicine for a wounded heart, and vitamins for a hopeful soul.” 

— Steve Maraboli

After my last post many friends reached out to me, to encourage me and to share their experiences. I was told to take one day at a time, this too shall pass, things take time and mostly a warm hug sent over the internet. I felt loved and relieved to know that I was not alone. 

I had read somewhere that 

“Remember no man is a failure who has friends”.

I did exactly as I was told. I gave myself time and went to have tea with a Friend. We had some amazing conversation over some absolutely delicious food. When I left her house life felt under control and I was ready to face the new challenge. 

And it was a good day indeed. 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    Congratulations! Oh, that sounds really promising and seems as though your kids have finally settled down in their new environment. keeping fingers crossed for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you … a Friend said that take one day at a time and today was a good day. Tomorrow is another day. Fingers crossed

      Like

  2. S Butt says:

    Congratulations to you oh! it sound really promising and seems as though your kids have finally settled down in their new environment.
    Keeping fingers crossed for you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

