My Singapore Chapter

The empty house, the voice that echoes off the walls, the noisy fan (a whirling sound which I hadn’t noticed in the last 3 years), the wide expanse of floor, spotless tiles and the walls – all white. The smell of bareness (didn’t know that bareness had a smell but now I do; bare houses have a distinct smell) as I walk in the door. 

It felt the same as when I had walked in 3 years back. It is as if time never moved, as if my clock never ticked. Have I been still all these years? Where did all the time go? I remember walking in feeling scared of being alone in this new place. Today I feel scared walking out leaving behind a familiar space.

I look out the window to the very familiar criss cross stacked buildings. I love this building I have to admit. The architect I admire maybe I am in awe of him, I definitely idolise him. Human mind and ingenuity, such a beautifully crafted marvellous piece of architecture. 


Strange as it may seem, this building has brought me immense joy. Sheer sight brings me to tears today. 

I made some wonderful friends here, I was encouraged to discover myself. I had many who cheered me. Many strangers and many new found friends took time to believe in me, to tell me I was good at the new things I did. My mistakes overlooked. My efforts appreciated, my achievements celebrated. 


Time to close this chapter in my life. I am sad that this chapter has come to an end but I’m happy that this was an enlightening, exciting and thrilling chapter with experiences that have enriched my life forever. 


The empty walls stare back at me as I wipe down the last tear that rolls down my cheek. I think I can hear them say ‘we have had some good time, don’t be sad’. Im happy our paths crossed dear Friend’ the house talks back to me. 

I repeat to myself the wise words from the book “The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho where he writes:

“We are travelers on a cosmic journey, stardust, swirling and dancing in the eddies and whirlpools of infinity. Life is eternal. We have stopped for a moment to encounter each other, to meet, to love, to share. This is a precious moment. It is a little parenthesis in eternity.”
My Singapore Chapter. My precious moment. My parenthesis in eternity.

Leave a Reply

