Happy New Year 2017, pledge to make ourselves and the world a better place.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!
I would like to wish everyone a VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR. Have an awesome 2017 year.
May all your days be warm with spring sunshine, may the birds sing for you, may you see flowers blossom and may your garden be green forever. May it rain, rain of blessings on you, may rainbows come to delight you. May you find pots of gold at the end. May the path you tread be full of health. May the year be the one that is full of cheerful blessings that the Lord bestows on you, and all for your “Highest Good”.

I feel sad when I see the troubles and turmoils that we as the human race experience, the wars, the conflicts, refugees, migrants, hunger, human trafficking even the bullying and discrimination in the playgrounds. I am sure many of you like me, feel helpless and overwhelmed by it all. Perhaps 2017 will be just as challenging as 2016 turned out to be if we do nothing. But you know we CAN do something positive and concrete about changing the world.

 

 

The “I Ching, or Book of Changes”, an ancient Chinese philosophy dating back 3,000 years, advises that we can change the world by beginning with ourselves. It is true that each time we change our behaviour, people around us respond differently. They (and we) cannot keep doing the same rituals because the rules have changed now.

We Can Never Obtain Peace in the Outer World Until We Make Peace With Ourselves – Dalai Lama



According to the “I Ching book” behaviors that operate within a household shape its inhabitants; and what is learned in the home will transfer to the community, the state, and the world. So if you want to change the world, you have to begin with changing yourself.

“When the house is set in order, the world is established in a firm course.” I Ching 



Make this the time of the year for reflection and thinking about making resolutions to change things especially to change ourselves.

“Give, even if you only have a little.” The Buddha

Make a list of things that matter not just to you but to others around you as well. A list of the ways in which you would like to change your behavior and the choices you make each day. Make a list of things you want to give; start with your compassion, smile at everyone, greet them, encourage them by your words, praise them, appreciate them, listen to them and give them your time.

“Words are, in my not so humble opinion, our most inexhaustible source of magic, capable of both influencing injury, and remedying it.” – J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows

Start small. Make a commitment to the “New You”. Know that it is your choices that change the world. Who we really are is only determined by the actions we do. Our actions matter, and collectively we can change the world.

The following quote from my all time favourite book series is what I want to end my thoughts with it.


“The world isn’t split into good people and Death Eaters. We’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on. That’s who we really are.” –J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix

Tô read some interesting new year resolutions and thoughts from blogs around the world please click the link below:

Travelling through life with Cathy

Bye 2016, Hello 2017

In 2017 I will

Inside Lauras Head

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks so much for the quotes and inspiration. This post is like food for the soul. I constantly think introspectively about myself and work on being the best person I can be. I also constantly work for the best for my children, feeding them wholesome foods, and teaching them to be kind. Honestly though, I never considered that the way I bring up my children will change the make-up of my community. I feel like i need to start over, teach them so much more. Three of them are already grownups!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me it is so inspiring. I have been trying to do the same, teaching ourselves and our children to be kind and welcoming of others views, religions, nationalities and accepting that we are all humans and equal and deserve love. We can change the world by our small actions. I’m sure you have done a wonderful job at bringing up your children. Happy new year!

      Like

  2. Abbie says:

    Such beautiful words. And I am a Potterhead so I love the Rowling quotes. A very happy new year to you too Laila. I’m visiting via Muslimah Bloggers. Insha’Allah you’d be hearing more from me. I’d be one of your regular readers! Do visit me http://abbiesadventurediaries.blogspot.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog. I really appreciate your kind words of encouragement. Im so happy to make your acquaintance. Will drop in at your blog. Thank you. Have a lovely day.

      Like

  3. S Butt says:

    My pledge

    Have to live in this world, will take pride and continue to make it a better place to live.

    I do solemnly swear that I will leave this world a better place to stay than I found it.

    Ernest Hemingway once wrote, “The world is a fine place and worth fighting for.”

    William Somerset; “I agree with the second part.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it is worth fighting for …

      Like

Leave a Reply

