Time to make some “New Year Resolutions”!

As another year comes to an end, I like many of us have begin to look back over the months and days of my this year. What have I accomplished in these 365 days?

Singapore, Christmas, Orchard
Street performance at Orchard Road, Singapore. Look at his hands in the coming pictures. He miraculously holds a suspended ball in the air, magic or illusion?

Like all the past years, the month of December quickly escapes into the hands of Father Time, as though each moment had more important things to do. Though I’m a person who lives in the present but to no avail, the sands of the hourglass are cascading in full furies. I’m left feeling as if time is flying right of my hands.

Singapore, Orchard, Christmas
The street magician as he tries to blow the glass crystal away. He is not touching it, the glass crystal is between his hands.

Time bears all, time heals all and time tells all. In life and in all things, all you have to do is give it time. All in good time, all on its own time and just in the nick of time. Those are clichés, one might say. But all good clichés reveal what we, humans believe to be mostly true.

Singapore, Christmas, Orchard
He brings the crystal ball for a closer look, see no strings just a plain ball. He doesn’t speak a word during the performance, just talks with his hand gestures and facial expressions. Extraordinary performance I must. I wonder how he keeps his illusion with so many people watching him intently.

I wonder often what is time? What is the value of 24 hours that we all have?

Time is like money (time is not money, I don’t mean to say it is) in that time is a resource. But unlike money, one doesn’t earn time. Time is given to us by fate, in a series of seconds, minutes, hours, days, weeks, years, and decades. Strangely time for all purposes is free.

Singapore, Christmas
Blowing the trumpet reminded me of how a trumpet was blown to announce the start of a game or a ceremony or at time of victory or time that army marched into a city. Time for the trumpets to be blown, happy times, joyous times or some really scary times.

However, we can’t “make” more time, we can’t win time or borrow time; once our time is spent, once that second has passed, it’s gone forever.

Singapore, Christmas, Orchard
May our time here be like candles in wind not to be blown out but spreading the light far and beyond.

You can’t escape time and our time will end. Time is precious indeed, priceless I must say. It is said that in the final hours of men/women the requests are not for more money, more cars, and more houses but rather for more time. Aha where did all this time go?
Most people wouldn’t dream of wasting money, but we often waste our time? What is actually waste of time? I wonder how much time I have wasted this year?

Singapore
Christmas decorations, the leaping reindeers. Happy times, times of freedom, times to be cherished and never forgotten.

I take the time to think about this today, because all I have today is today. What would I plan to do with my time in 2017? What matters the most to me? What do I want to be? What do I want to accomplish? Who do I want to spend my time with? Questions and questions I need to ask myself today.

Singapore, Christmas
Christmas stars remind me of the guidance from above, the time to follow our instincts and time to let nature show us the way!

Your New Year’s Resolutions could be like mine, to lose weight, make more friends, find time to write, learn something new, stop procrastinating, build confidence, complete a project, overcome fears, be a better parent, spouse and save some money.

Singapore, Christmas
The stars put on Orchard road, the pretty blue pointed stars. Time to enjoy beauty!

It matters not what your goal is, what matters is that you have a plan to make it happen in 2017 and all that starts NOW!

Make your resolutions and write them down. We all need a checklist to help us keep focus especially when the times become dark and we feel lost. Make a resolution to help bring peace to the world.

Christmas, Singapore, prayer
Christmas decorations on Orchard Road. May our times to come be filled with reindeers that fly across our skies with dreams of magic, marvel and curiosity. May the stars guide us on the time of our adventures. May the light always keep us company and drive away our darkest times. Ameen

Wishing everyone happier times to come. Wishing that may time slow down for you to enjoy each moment. May your time here bring peace to world.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. S Butt says:

    Considerate reflection on the past year . . . . and I really hope that time does slow down for you to enjoy every minute of it.

    Fast forward sorrow times.

    All the very best for the new year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, time has a funny way of slowing down yesterday I went for walk, everything went well I was headed back and decided to buy milk and few other stuff and then the last few minutes of walk felt so long (it was just 900) the longest one with 2 heavy bags 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

